Extremes

Motherhood is full of extremes.  Elation to despair.  Joy to desperation.  Often within a single hour.  I try to temper my reactions and moods but oft times I fail.  They say that consistency is the most important attribute to bring to parenthood but it seems the most illusive for me.

Each evening, when I take stock of my day I think, “tomorrow will be better.  Tomorrow I’ll be patient and loving in everything I do.”  Then, tomorrow hits.  Things never go as planned and soon I find my voice raised and anger in my expressions.  I can see it in my kids faces and I hate myself.

  1. I want our home to be a safe haven.  I want my kids to always feel love and know I am ALWAYS here for them but I feel like I’m failing.  I have shining moments but I feel like the vast majority of the time I’m doing it all wrong.I know there are things I can do to help me be better.  For example, if I get to bed on-time my patience lasts a whole lot longer.  There are variables that are out of my control (ie: babies who don’t sleep well, dealing with nighttime illness etc.) but I can do my part to get in bed and close my eyes on time.  (Curse you “Outlander!”  The sexual tension is killing me {I know.  I know.  I’m way behind the curve.})
  2. I need to start bedtime earlier.  My kids have been going to bed later (thanks to daylight savings ending) and getting up earlier (thanks, again, to daylight savings ending). I need to move their bedtime up since it doesn’t seem to make any difference in the time they wake up.  An earlier bedtime means:
  3. I need to make dinner earlier.  Thankfully the soccer season is over so this should be easier now.  No more late practices.
  4. Put down that device.  I’ve mentioned it here before but I have a slight addiction to electronics.  I’ve noticed that when I’m distracted by something electronic I tend to overreact to whatever it is my kids are doing.  I yell more and feel more angry in general.  It’s just so darn hard to put it away, though.  Especially on the days when my hubby is working late.  That distraction is so easy and readily available when I’m already feeling alone, frustrated, or just plain crazy.

That’s all I’ve got.  Do you have any advice, tips, or tricks for keeping your temper under control when your kids are fighting, yelling, mouthing-off or just plain making you crazy?

And on a completely unrelated note, have you heard Wild Ones before?  I’m loving them!

5 thoughts on “Extremes

  1. I can lose my patience and I’m not happy about it. Instead of losing my cool, my new way of dealing with the kids is a graduated time out. First offense is a warning, 2nd is 30 minutes in their room, etc. It’s always a work in progress for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your not alone…you are a good mom. This mom thing is hard, they drain take and suck every last drop we have to offer. Take time to read, nap or do something YOU like doing. That’s one thing can puts new breath into me. Press on, you got this!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sorry. I don’t have kid’s. If I did I would probably give them a spanking or send them to their room until they calmed down. My grandma washed my mouth out with soap once. I don’t know. You could try calmly talking to them and if they don’t listen make them go to bed immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s rough, isn’t it? I remember wanting so much to be patient and kind with my kids at all times. LOL, we simply can’t. It’s not even possible. Besides, if you’re too perfect, they’ll have no idea how to function in the real world full of imperfect people.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

