The Bright Side

My husband has a weird schedule.  Pretty much he can work any time of the day.  They schedule him quarterly, at least, so we know for three months at a time when he’ll be working.

There are things I like and things I don’t like about each shift.  I like to do a mental count of the positives each time we get his schedule.  There are some things I really hate about each shift and if I don’t think about the positives the negatives overwhelm me.  For instance, he worked night shift over the holidays.  He and I both HATE night shift.  It’s hard on him, it’s hard on me, it’s hard on the kids.  But, the big BUT, my love (ML) had off every single holiday this season.  Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas AND New Years Eve!  How lucky was that?  It’s been years since he’s had off ALL of the holidays.  🙂

Today was the first off on his new shift.  I’ve felt a little down because all of last year he worked a shift where he had Thursday, Friday, Saturday and every other Wednesday off (they work 12 hour shifts).  I’ve come to love having most of the weekend off and I’ve been wracking my brain trying to find the bright-side.

Well, I’ve found my bright-side. 🙂  Mondays are hard at our house, just as they are at most people’s.  Getting everybody up and out the door on Monday is…difficult.  We’ll, now I have a partner for the Monday blues.  We were running late this Monday morning (as usual for Monday).  The house was cold so I had a hard time pulling myself out of bed and by the time I did I was late.  I forgot to my MO’s lunch last night.  The kids were famished so they had seconds (and thirds) of breakfast making us even later.  Are you ready for my bright-side?  Four hands are better than two, right?  ML picked up the slack and made everything run nice and smooth this morning.  Oh happy day.

And in the spirit of looking at the bright-side here is my list of other bright-sides for this quarter:

  • ML can come to Sunday dinners now.  (My in-laws host dinner every Sunday and it’s just not the same without my love.
  • Going on dates is so much easier Monday-Wednesday.  I do not enjoy crowds and nobody goes out to dinner Monday and Tuesday.  Yay!
  • Cheap Tuesday tickets.  Our local movie theater has cheap tickets all day Tuesday.
  • My love has his birthday off work.  Wahoo!
  • He’s no longer working nights.  That’s always a plus.

I’m sure I could think of more but this is a start, right?  Yay for a new quarter!

One thought on “The Bright Side

Leave a Reply

