Passport

For the umpteenth time I’ve decided to apply for a passport.  I’ve always wanted a passport.  The idea of traveling the world has always appealed to me but the reality (ie: costs) have always held me back.  I’m thinking if I get a passport and the opportunity arrises I’ll actually be able to go.

passport

I don’t have a super long list of must-go places on my list.  If I had the chance I would first like to go the UK and Ireland.  My family history is mostly Irish and English so I have a burning desire to go there.  I want to see where my people are from.  As an adoptee I longed to know where I was from (it’s hard feeling to describe to people who have always known their ancestry) and now that I know I want to go.

Dunluce Castle

Dunluce Castle, Ireland

As a family I would love to take one big trip to New Zealand.  My husband had the opportunity to go as a teenager and it is on his (very) short list of places he’d like to go.  I want to go for a whole month, rent a camper and see everything we can see in that time.  Apparently the have a lot of wonderful campgrounds where you can drive place to place and even take a fairy from the north island to the south one.

new zealand

Queenstown, New Zealand

Last on my short list I would love to go to Venezuela.  I don’t know that it will ever happen with the political mess they are in now but this is the only other place on my husbands list of where he would like to go.  He lived there for a few years in his early 20’s and he has always wanted to go back.  I would love to go there with him.

venezuela

Angel Falls. Venezuela

And that’s about it.  Of course there are other places I would like to go if I had the opportunity but these three are the places I long to go.

For now, though, I will be satisfied to have a passport in hand and a dream in my heart.

How about you?  Where do you long to go?

Leave a Reply

